Skip to main content

Our Free Plan

DOM Cloud has a generous free plan for everyone. This article explains it with more details.

About

The Free Plan offered by our web hosting platform provides you with a great starting point to host your website without any cost. You don't need to provide any payment information to sign up for the Free Plan. You can use it for as long as you want, and you can upgrade to a paid plan at any time.

Our free plan is great for:

  • Those who are starting out learning web hosting.
  • Those who want to host a small website or a blog.
  • Students and teachers who want to host their projects.
  • Sharing your web projects with your friends and family.

Features

Our free plan comes with the following features:

  • 1.5GB Free Storage: With the Free Plan, you get 1.5 gigabytes (GB) of storage space for your website files, databases, and other related content. This storage capacity allows you to host a small to medium-sized website with ease.
  • 2GB Network Data: The Free Plan includes 2 gigabytes (GB) of network outbound data transfer. This means that your website can send up to 2GB of data to visitors' browsers or other servers. This includes both text and multimedia content, such as images, videos, and audio files.
  • Unrestricted Features: The Free Plan comes with all the features of our paid plans. This includes SSH access, Git integration, and more. The CPU and RAM resources are not limited, but still shared with other users and subject to Fair Use as with other paid plans.
  • Custom domain: All websites can use custom domain if you already buy one (either buying from ours or somewhere else). Read more about set up a DNS setup here.

Default Domain Availability

A free but randomized domain is available with *.dom.my.id suffix. This domain should not be used for anything but testing or demo as the domain name is not customizable.

A subscription (as low as a Lite plan) is needed to use *.domcloud.dev domain. This domain is customizable (always matching the website's username). This domain is preferred over the former for personal sites and it will remain the same even if your account goes back to free plan.

Purchasing your own domain (like *.com) is recommended if you need branding and SEO for your website. You can purchase a domain either from us or any other registrar. To use a custom domain for websites hosted in DOM Cloud see the DNS setup page.

You can also share a domain securely for institutional or learning purposes.

Third-Party API Access

All websites created with free plan has firewall enabled. This blocks outgoing HTTP connection from server except to the list of whitelisted sites. This is implemented so that our generous free plan will not be abused for malicious bot, proxy and phising sites. To enable any third-party access, you need to upgrade your plan then disable firewall at individual websites.

Expiration Date

All plans has expiration date and this includes all users with free plans. However, the expiration date of the free plan will extend automatically each time you logged in into your account. This means that as long as you logged in at least once every 60 days, your free plan will never expire.

Alternatively, if at the end of the month your total network data usage is more than 50 MB, your free plan will also be extended automatically for another 60 days.

The whole point of having this expiration date system for all users with free plan is to prevent abuse of it, and make sure that the resources are used by those who really need it.

Upgrading to Paid Plan

Upgrading to a paid plan is easy, you can do it at any time from your account dashboard. Once you upgrade, you will get the benefits of extra storage and more network data transfer. Our billing system doesn't charge you automatically, so if you don't want to continue using the paid plan when it due, your account will be downgraded to the free plan automatically with another extra 60 days.

It's perfectly fine if you only upgrade once to get *.domcloud.dev or disabling firewall. We won't revert the config even if you go back to free plan. Just keep note that going back to free plan still reduces storage / network limit on your account.

What Happens When It Expires?

If your free plan expires, you will have 14 days to log in to your account and extend it. If you don't log in within 14 days, all your website data will be removed from our servers permanently.

To make sure you're not forgetting it, we will send 3 email notifications to your registered email address before your account is deleted. This doesn't apply if you don't have any website in your account.